Noonday Collection + Just Really Joseph

I am excited to share with you two ways Next Door Boutique has partnered locally and globally. Our Girls Night Wednesday November 9 from 5-8 will feature Noonday Collection with Sara Van Zee and I am so excited for you to see all of the unique pieces! I am also launching the start of the boutique selling a children’s book called Just Really Joseph written by one of our own local ladies, Kayla Craig. I did a short interview with both of them, so you could get to know them and what exactly they’re apart of.

 

What is Noonday?

Noonday is a fairtrade organization that helps to connect artisan groups in vulnerable areas with a marketplace to sell their gorgeous handmade pieces.

When did you start selling Noonday and why?

I began selling Noonday January 2013, almost 4 years ago.  I began because I have witnessed and traveled to places of vulnerability and realized that every mom is the same, we all want to provide for our families.  However, in areas of vulnerability there are many outside problems that keep you in the cycle of poverty.  Finding work, education, food, medical care are all issues that plague the vulnerable.  Often times it is hard for us to understand the desperation they face on a daily battle as we sit in our homes with a roof, food in the pantry, schools, and doctors available for each sniffle.  One example would be when I spend time in those areas, if a child gets diarrhea one of the first thoughts that goes through that mother’s mind is, “My child may die.”  In all my years of raising my 6 children that thought has NEVER crossed my mind when we have diarrhea, NEVER!  That is one small example.  And a picture of how we cannot even pretend to know what they encounter each day.

How have you seen Noonday bless others and yourself?

With Noonday I have seen so many impacted.  I have been able to participate in many adoption stories as Noonday partners with adoptive families to help alleviate  the cost of adoption through fundraisers.  It has even been instrumental in our own adoption of our 6th child who came home this past summer.  I have also had the privilege of traveling with Noonday to a few of our partners around the world and a few things have struck me.  One thing that is heard over and over on those trips is, “I get paid EVERY week for the work that I do, I have never been paid every week.”  Some of the most vulnerable children are those with special needs, they tend to be the first that find themselves in an orphanage because services to help care for the child are hard to come by.  We are watching families raise their children with special needs.  One of the ways that the UN measures if poverty is being alleviated is by looking at how many children are attending school in that area and we are seeing all the children attending school and not only that many are in the top of their classes!!

They say that jewelry won’t change the world, but that the women who wear it will!  I do believe that small choices we make everyday create a world that flourishes, where children are cherished, people are empowered, and we are all connected.  Join the movement!

What is your favorite new fall piece?

I have so many pieces this season that I love.  I love that we have more delicate pieces for those that don’t want the statement piece and yet we have gorgeous pieces that will transform your look!  One of the pieces that I continue to throw on is the fringed crescent from Haiti.  It is a gorgeous piece that is delicate and yet makes a great statement!

img_7072
Pictured is our new floral top and Sara’s favorite Fringed Crescent Necklace

Just Really Joseph:

Why did you write the book?

As an adoptive mom, I scoured the internet for a children’s book about adoption that would help foster conversation about my son’s identity, his skin color, and his birth mother. When my search came up short, I began dreaming and brainstorming about a relatable children’s book that connects with children in an age-appropriate, charming way.

Inspired by Joseph (who’s six and joined our family via international adoption) and Asher (who’s three and joined our family the old-fashioned way!), I wrote Just Really Joseph — a story about adoption, and what just really makes a family.

What is Katelyn’s Fund?

I’m humbled that 100 percent of sales will flow directly to Katelyn’s Fund Orphan Ministry, a 501(c)3 that advocates for child sponsorship in Haiti, as well as provide international and domestic adoption grants to families across the U.S.
What are you hoping people get out of the book?

I hope that a few minutes of reading Just Really Joseph will, as my son Joseph says, “make your heart just really happy.” Just Really Joseph is a charming book for all children about identity and what *just really* makes a family.

14976036_997289693392_501333397_o
(Kayla wanted a photo of the first store that is selling her book!)

img_7358

Shop with us November 9 from 5-8 to see Noonday in person and enter to win one of their gorgeous necklaces plus a few surprises! While you’re shopping great clothing and jewelry check out Just Really Joseph and grab a few copies to give as gifts while making a donation to Katelyn’s Fund.  We will be having in store specials and all new items will be available for purchase!


Leave a comment